• 21
  • 05
  • 2019
  • 07.30
  • pm

Interior presents King Champion Sounds

Please note this is an 18+ event

King Champion Sounds are an Anglo/Dutch band and the brainchild of Ajay Saggar (Dandelion Adventure, Donkey, The Bent Moustache).

Vocals and lyrics are taken care of by G.W. Sok (The Ex).

The seven piece line-up is completed by a stellar second guitar player, bass and drums (a rhythm section that Mark E. Smith would be proud of), and two horn players. The result is  “a mix of The Fall, Can, Sun Ra, Captain Beefheart, Public Image Ltd, King Tubby. I love this band”, said Sonic Youth’s Thurston Moore.

The band started early 2013, for a one-off support in Amsterdam with, and at the request, of Mike Watt (Minutemen, fIREHOSE, Stooges).

In the summer of 2013, after hearing recordings for King Champion Sounds’ debut album, the Yeah Yeah Yeahs asked King Champion Sounds to be the support act at YYY’s sold out Paradiso Amsterdam show.

The debut album “Different Drummer” was released in October 2013 to international critical acclaim with reviews in The Sunday Times, through to Pitchfork. The second album “Songs For The Golden Hour” was released in October 2014.

The band has already played extensively throughout Europe.

You May Also Be Interested In